Connect with us

2023 Election

2023 Election: Senate and House seats in Plateau North are won by PDP



Simon Mwadkwon, a candidate for the Peoples Democratic Party, was proclaimed the victor of the Plateau-North senatorial district election by the Independent National Electoral Commission on Tuesday.

The PDP candidate, Musa Agah, was also proclaimed the victor for the Bassa/Jos North Federal Constituency seat by the commission.


The results were declared by Professor Jeff Doki, Head of the English Department at the University of Jos, and the Returning Officer for the Plateau North senatorial election.

He declared that Mwadkwon received 155,681 votes, defeating Christopher Musa, the All Progressives Congress candidate, who received 78,302.


Suleiman Kwande, the Peoples Redemption Party’s nominee, received 32,607 votes.

The Returning Officer, Professor Josiah Muthir of the University of Jos, announced the election results for the Bassa/Jos North federal constituency seat.


He claimed that the PDP candidate won the election with a total vote count of 87,609, whereas Hon. Muhammad Alkali of the PRP received 67,331 more votes than the PDP candidate.

The Collation Center for the Plateau North senatorial election and the Bassa/Jos North Federal Constituency was located at the Jos North Local Government Secretariat, which was originally intended to host the announcement of the winners for both elections.


However, the assault of the collation center by thugs who were allegedly loyal to the PRP candidates caused tension at the secretariat.

The election authority moved the collation center to a another location after the thugs earlier chased the INEC personnel out of the building.


At the state’s Tudun Wada village, the election results were declared.

ALSO READ: PDP tells INEC to declare the presidential election inconclusive



Continue Reading
error: Content is protected !!

Discover more from Daily Updates News

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading