Governor of Kwara is once again AbdulRazaq of the APC

Views: 67
Read Time:1 Minute, 1 Second

Kwara State’s Governor AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq won reelection to a fourth four-year term.

In order to defeat his two closest rivals, Abdullah Yahman of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who received 155,490 votes, and Hakeem Lawal of the Social Democratic Party (SDP), who received 18,922 votes, the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate garnered 273,424 votes.

On Saturday, elections for governor were held in 28 of Nigeria’s 36 states. A court case compelled INEC to bring the gubernatorial and state assembly elections forward, which resulted in them taking place a week later than originally planned.

Anambra, Bayelsa, Edo, Ekiti, Imo, Kogi, Osun, and Ondo are eight of the 36 states that have “off-season” governorship elections because of legal disputes and court rulings.

The 28 states that held governorship elections on March 18 are: Abia, Adamawa, Akwa Ibom, Bauchi, Benue, Borno, Cross River, Delta, Ebonyi, Enugu, Gombe, Jigawa, Katsina, Kebbi, Kwara, Lagos, Nasarawa, Niger, Ogun, Oyo, Plateau, Rivers, Sokoto, Taraba, Yobe, and Zamfara.

Among the 28 states, 11 of the current governors, including AbdulRazaq, ran for reelection, while 17 outgoing governors, who were sworn in on May 29, 2015, are nearing the end of their constitutionally mandated two terms of eight years.