Connect with us


Zamfara’s newly elected governor Lawal appoints a 60-member transition committee.



In order to lay the groundwork for his inauguration on May 29, Dr. Dauda Lawal, the candidate for governor of Zamfara State, has formed a transition committee with 60 members.

Sulaiman Bala Idris, the governor-elect’s press secretary, said in a statement on Wednesday that the committee was tasked with maintaining communication with the departing Bello Matawalle administration.


Mohammed Abubakar, a former inspector general of police, was chosen to lead the committee, and Dr. Hamza Mohammed would act as secretary.

Other committee members include, among others, Prof. Abubakar Aliyu Liman, Nura Ibrahim Zarumi, a current member of the National Assembly, and Mujitaba Isah Gusau, a former Head of Service in the state.

According to reports, the group consists of technocrats, individuals who currently hold or have formerly held public office, as well as professionals and specialists from a variety of fields.


According to the statement, the committee’s main responsibility was to create a clear structure for coordination with the departing administration and open a direct line of formal communication with them in order to ensure a smooth transition.

Idris continued by saying that the committee would consult with Ministries, Departments, and Agencies (MDAs) and examine the finances of the departing administration with a focus on receipts, assets, and liabilities, among other things.

He added that the Governorship Transition Committee’s inaugural date would be notified in due course.


Continue Reading