Connect with us


Argentina and PSG star Lionel Messi receives the Best Fifa Men’s Player honor.



The 2022 Best Fifa Awards have recognized Lionel Messi of Argentina and Paris St. Germain as the male player of the year.

The 35-year-old won the award ahead of French attackers Karim Benzema and Kylian Mbappe.


Messi scored 27 goals in 49 games for club and country in 2021–2022 as he led Argentina to World Cup victory in Qatar.

Women’s player of the year was awarded to Alexia Putellas of Barcelona.


Messi, who won the award for a second time, said: “It’s amazing. It’s been a tremendous year and it’s an honour for me to be here and win this award. Without my team-mates I wouldn’t be here.

“I achieved the dream I had been hoping for for so long. Very few people can achieve that and I have been lucky to do so.”


Lionel Scaloni, who guided Argentina to their third World Cup victory, was voted men’s coach of the year at the ceremony in Paris.

Scaloni won the award ahead of Carlo Ancelotti of Real Madrid and Pep Guardiola of Manchester City, who led his team to the Champions League trophy and a sixth consecutive Premier League triumph.


Sarina Wiegman, the manager of England, won the title of women’s coach of the year after guiding the Lionesses to their first major victory at home in the European Championship last year.

Emiliano Martinez of Aston Villa and Argentina received the title for best male goalkeeper, and Mary Earps of England took home the prize for best female goalkeeper.


Martinez, 30, contributed to his nation’s victory in the World Cup by saving four penalties along the way, including one in the final shootout victory over France.

Earps, a Women’s Super League player for Manchester United, started each of England’s six Euro 2022 games en route to the team’s championship.


The Fifa Puskas award went to Polish team Warta Poznan’s amputee football player Marcin Oleksy for scoring the year’s best goal. He used his crutches to propel an incredible overhead volley against Stal Rzeszow into the goal.

The winner of the fair play award was Luka Lochoshvili, who restrained his opponent, Georg Teigl, from speaking after the midfielder had lost consciousness in order to preserve his life.


Fifpro men’s world XI: Thibaut Courtois; Achraf Hakimi, Virgil van Dijk, Joao Cancelo; Kevin De Bruyne, Luka Modric, Casemiro; Lionel Messi, Erling Haaland, Karim Benzema, Kylian Mbappe.

Full list of winners:


The Best men’s player: Lionel Messi

The Best women’s player: Alexia Putellas


The Best men’s goalkeeper: Emiliano Martinez

The Best women’s goalkeeper: Mary Earps


The Best men’s coach: Lionel Scaloni

The Best women’s coach: Sarina Wiegman


The Best Puskas award: Marcin Oleksy

The Best fan award: Argentina fans


The Best fair play award: Luka Lochoshvili




error: Content is protected !!

Discover more from Daily Updates News

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading