Connect with us

2023 Election

Tinubu is President-elect



—Atiku wins 12 states, Obi 12 and Kwankwaso 1 for the APC.

Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, the All Progressives Congress, APC’s presidential candidate, was proclaimed president-elect at EXACTLY 4.10 am this morning, ending the presidential election that began last Saturday.


In accordance with the law, Tinubu Bola Ahmed is therefore declared the winner, according to Professor Mahmood Yakubu, the Chief Returning Officer for the February 25 presidential election and National Chairperson of the Independent National Election Commission, INEC.

The announcement caused the gathering at the National Collation Centre to erupt in hysterical celebration. Around 3 o’clock today, Tinubu will receive the certificate of return, according to Professor Yakubu.


Alhaji Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who came in second with 6,984,520 votes and also won in 12 states, was defeated by Tinubu, who received 8,794,726 votes and won in 12 states.

Mr. Peter Obi, the candidate for the Labour Party (LP), received 6,101,533 votes, finishing a close third. He also won the FCT and 11 other states.


Senator Rabiu Kwankwaso, a former governor of Kano State and NNPP candidate, received 1,496,687 votes to finish fourth.

State victories by Tinubu include those in Ekiti, Kwara, Ondo, Oyo, Ogun, Jigawa, Niger, Benue, Kogi, Borno, Kebbi, Zamfara, and Rivers.


State victories by Atiku include those in Osun, Yobe, Gombe, Adamawa, Katsina, Akwa Ibom, Bauchi, Bayelsa, Kaduna, Kebbi, and Sokoto.

This happened yesterday when Mr. Peter Obi resumed his electoral tsunami in the South-East and South-South by winning Abia, Anambra, Ebonyi, Imo, Delta, and Cross River. Previously, he had won in Lagos, Edo, and Enugu.


He also won in Plateau State, Abuja, the Federal Capital Territory, and Nasarawa outside of both zones.

In his home state of Anambra, the LP candidate fared the best, receiving 584,621 votes. Atiku received 9,036 votes, Kwankwaso 1,967 votes, and Tinubu 5,111 votes.


Obi polled 327,095 votes in Abia while Asiwaju Bola Tinubu of the All Progressives Congress, APC received 8,914 votes; Alhaji Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, scored 22,676; and Senator Rabiu Kwakwanso of the New Nigeria Party, NNPP, got 1,239 votes.

In Abuja, Tinubu received 90,902 votes, Obi 281,717, Atiku 74,194, and Kwankwaso 4,517.


Obi also won Plateau with 466,272 votes, followed by Tinubu with 301,195, Atiku with 243,808, and Kwankwaso with 8,869 votes.

Obi defeated Tinubu in Cross River with 179,917 votes to 130,520 for Tinubu, 95,425 for Atiku, and 16,444 for Kwakwanso. As of right now, Obi has won the states of Lagos, Enugu, FCT, Edo, Abia, Cross River, Anambra, and Plateau, whereas Kwankwaso has only succeeded in Kano.


Obi urges restraint

Obi, in the meantime, yesterday urged his followers to maintain their composure.


Mr. Obi remarked in remarks at the Asaba Airport in Delta State: “We should maintain our composure, consistency, and persistence.

“All we’re asking is for competent leadership. Let the government take care of the underprivileged.


The 18 political parties received the following results: A-61,014; AA-14,542; AAC-14,608; ADC—81,919; ADP—43,924; APC—8,794, 726; APGA—61,966; APM-61,966; APP—12,839; BP—16,156; LP—6, 101, 533; NNPP—1,496,687; NRM—24,869; P

Tinubu files suit to stop LP, PDP from blocking results’ collation


The All Progressives Congress, APC, and its presidential candidate, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, have filed a lawsuit before a Federal High Court in Kano to prevent the Labour Party, LP, and the People’s Democratic Party, PDP, from taking any action to obstruct the compilation and announcement of the results of the presidential election held on February 25.

The Action Alliance and the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, were joined as defendants in the lawsuit with the filing number FHC/KN/CS/43/2023. Kashim Shettima, the vice president of the APC, was also included as a plaintiff.


The plaintiffs ask the court to issue an order prohibiting the defendants from stopping the collation and announcement of the results because “damages will not adequately compensate for the injury that may be occasioned on the Plaintiffs if by the Defendants stop the collation of the result,” according to a motion on notice filed alongside the originating summons.

Both the LP and PDP had demanded that the election be thrown off due to massive violence, allegations of manipulation, voter intimidation, doctoring of the results, and violations of the established electoral process, which were signaled by INEC’s denial.


They also demanded that Prof. Mahmood Yakubu vacate his position as INEC chairman and bemoaned the failure to use the BVAS, or Bimodal Voter Accreditation System, to transmit the results of the election on February 25, 2023.

But, Yakubu defended the election and urged the politicians who felt wronged to go to court.

Continue Reading
error: Content is protected !!

Discover more from Daily Updates News

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading